Motor vehicle accidents often produce devastating injuries. Many people are comforted knowing they can file a claim with the liable party’s insurance company to recover their damages.
However, when the driver who hit you was uninsured, the claims process could be significantly more complex. After all, if the driver is uninsured, there is no insurance company to file a claim with, right?
What Happens When an Uninsured Driver Hits you?
When an uninsured driver hits you, your opportunities to recover compensation through an insurance claim may be limited.
You could file a claim with your insurance company if you purchased personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, also known as no-fault coverage. Here, no matter who is responsible for causing the accident, your insurance company must compensate you based on your policy’s limits.
However, if you did not have no-fault coverage, and the driver who hit you was uninsured, you may find your opportunities to recover compensation are reduced.
In this case, you may need to move forward with a third-party liability claim for an uninsured car accident. This way, you will have the best opportunity to recover your damages fully, without being limited by insurance restrictions.
What Are Illinois’ Auto Insurance Requirements?
According to Illinois auto insurance laws, every driver must purchase certain types and amounts of auto insurance coverage.
Under the law, you must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and bodily injury liability coverage. You will also need a minimum of $20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage.
How to Stay Covered in an Uninsured Car Accident
Although these are the only types of auto insurance you are required to carry, it may be in your best interest to purchase an uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage, uninsured motorist property damage liability coverage, comprehension, collision, and other types of insurance coverage based on the specific details of your case.
This way, you are financially protected as much as possible in the event of a collision.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage covers the costs of your physical injuries if you are ever involved in an accident with an uninsured driver or a hit-and-run driver.
Under the law, the minimum limits for uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. If you wish to protect yourself beyond these limits, it is essential to purchase higher coverage amounts.
Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
Underinsured motorist bodily injury liability insurance is responsible for compensating you for the difference between the amount of coverage you purchased in underinsured motorist liability coverage and the amount of bodily injury liability coverage the liable party purchased if it is less than your underinsured motorist liability coverage limits.
According to 215 ILCS 5/143a-2, this type of coverage is required if you purchase increased limits of uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage.
Other Insurance Options to Consider
In addition to uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage and underinsured motorist bodily injury liability insurance, there are several other types of insurance coverage you may want to consider as part of your own auto insurance policy. Some of these include:
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage
Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) liability coverage will be responsible for covering the costs of your vehicle damage caused by an uninsured driver, the driver who hit you, or any other identified driver.
If you did not purchase collision coverage as part of your auto insurance policy, you may need to pay a $250 deductible if you purchase the maximum of $15,000 in UMPD coverage.
When your vehicle is damaged, collision covers the costs of these repairs. However, you should always be prepared to pay a deductible when you utilize this coverage. Depending on your policy, you may need to pay up to $1,000 in deductibles before the insurance company will cover their obligation.
At Staver, we have the awards that matter to you.
The Nation’s Top One Percent
The NADC is dedicated to promoting the highest standards of legal excellence.
The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers
The premier trial lawyers from each state who meet a stringent criteria of success.
Nation’s Premier Top Ten Attorney
A prestigious award, recognizing the nation’s top 1% of personal injury attorneys.
Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum
Limited to the best personal injury lawyers with million and multi-million dollar results.
Martindale-Hubbell - Peer Rated for Ethical Standards & Legal Ability
The gold standard in attorney ratings, recognizing legal ability and ethical standards.
If you’ve been hurt, it can be hard to know where to start. We begin every case with a free, no-risk evaluation. We’ll discuss your situation, answer your questions, and determine what comes next. Act now and get the recovery you deserve.
P: 888-988-7612Or fill out our online form
"*" indicates required fields